The Star-Spangled Banner


The Star-Spangled Banner

Arranged and Orchestrated by Ralph Farris

Performed by ETHEL in 2002

  • Ralph Farris, viola
  • Dorothy Lawson, cello
  • Todd Reynolds, violin
  • Mary Rowell, violin

Produced by Ralph Farris
Engineered by Lawrence Manchester

Click here for the smaller (6.8 MB mp3) download: The Star-Spangled Banner

Click here for the larger (32.3 WAV) download: The Star-Spangled Banner

Inspired by my work at St. Paul’s Chapel (“The Miracle Church”)  in 2001-’02, my string quartet arrangement of the National Anthem of The United States of America was completed on August 25, 2002. Written for ETHEL, the arrangement is performed here by the four original members of the group.

ETHEL premiered the piece on September 4, 2002 at Joe’s Pub in New York City.

It was next performed on September 11, 2002:

  • By the Saint Paul’s String Quartet at the Ground Zero 1st anniversary memorial ceremony
  • By ETHEL, in Berlin, Germany, at the House of World Cultures
ETHEL continues to perform the piece to this day.